Meet Bourbon Extraordinaire Julian Van Winkle III

Soutirage
5 min readJun 3, 2021

--

Julian Van Winkle III (R) stands with his son, Preston Van Winkle.

The past century has brought myriad incarnations of what we’ve come to call the Proust Questionnaire. Based on the late nineteenth century contemplations of French writer, Marcel Proust — subsequent adaptations have been issued by French journalist, Bernard Pivot, Inside the Actor’s Studio host, James Lipton, and most recently, Vanity Fair, which has been revealing the intimacies of cultural figures for more than two decades. Given the singular nature of our community, we felt it was high time to shed some light on our own icons. With a humble tip of the hat to those who’ve come before us, please meet Julian Van Winkle III.

At the age of 61, Julian “Pappy” Van Winkle founded the Stitzel-Weller Distillery in Louisville, Kentucky, with partners Alex Farnsley and Arthur Stitzel. The doors opened on “Derby Day,” May 5th, 1935. After Farnsley and Stitzel passed away in the 1940s, control was left to Pappy Van Winkle, who guided it until his death in 1965, at which time Pappy’s son, Julian Van Winkle, Jr., took the reins. Amidst a large fall in the price of whiskey during the early 1970s, the family sold the distillery, while retaining the rights to procure old stocks from the site, as well as the ongoing rights to the Old Rip Van Winkle brand name.

Not one to slow down, Van Winkle Jr. found an office and formed a new company called J.P. Van Winkle and Son. He found success in marketing Bourbon in commemorative decanters but continued to bottle on the side. It was during this period that started bottling the Old Rip Van Winkle label which he had purchased in the 1950s. After his father, Van Winkle Jr. passed away in 1981, Julian Van Winkle III took over the business as a third-generation Bourbon distiller and producer. These days he is joined by his son Preston, the fourth generation of the Van Winkle family to pick up the bourbon mantle. Julian Van Winkle III was also the first Kentuckian to win the coveted James Beard Award. Let’s find out more about Julian Van Winkle III:

Ah-ha moment?
When I was 17 or 18 years old, I spent a summer working in the distillery for my dad. I was working on repairing a barrel that had sprung a leak when suddenly the barrel came apart and I ended up soaked from head to toe with Barrel Strength. I tasted what had fallen into my mouth and thought, “That was really good!” I can still taste and feel it today.

What you’re drinking right now?
I try to attend as many large tastings as I can to try new whiskies and see what people are up to. Besides our own products, one of my favorites is 12-Year Redbreast out of Ireland. Although, in the summer, when the heat and humidity rise in Kentucky, I like a refreshing vodka tonic.

Your most memorable pairing(s)?
Salmon roasted on the head of a recently-emptied whiskey barrel paired with 12-Year Van Winkle Special Reserve.

What you’re listening to right now?
A little bit of everything — although country and Motown mostly. I also like Derek Trucks and his wife Suzanne Tedeschi who are friends of ours. They have a band called the Tedeschi Trucks Band. He is also the nephew of Butch Trucks, the original drummer in the Allman Brothers band, and became an official member of The Allman Brothers in 1999.

Favorite book and/or movie?
My favorite book is Into Thin Air, by Jon Krakauer, and as for movies, I like fun stuff like, What About Bob.

Who are your favorite authors?
I like exciting fiction by people like John Grisham, Daniel Brown (The DaVinci Code), and Stieg Larsson (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo).

What’s your idea of a perfect weekend?
I hope that my wife doesn’t read this, but, going out for a great round of golf! I love the courses up in Michigan where we spend some time in the summer, and I had the privilege of playing Augusta once.

What spirit(s) you’re drinking?
12-Year Redbreast
Buffalo Trace
Old Forester Rye Whiskey

Spirits figures you most admire (living or otherwise)?
My father, my grandfather, my son, Preston, Parker Beam of Heaven Hill Distilleries, Elmer T. Lee from Buffalo Trace Distillery, and Jimmy Russell from Wild Turkey Distillery.

Spirits figure you’d most like to share a meal with (living or otherwise)?
My grandfather, Julian “Pappy” Van Winkle. He died when I was only 15, but there are a lot of questions that I would have loved to have asked him, such as what motivated him to start a distillery at age 61, where did the wheated-whiskey recipe come from, etc.

If you didn’t do what you did, what would you do?
I think that I would be good at flipping houses.

Who are your favorite collaborators?
My son, Preston, and Kris Comstock, who manages operations at the Buffalo Trace Distillery.

What is something that few people know about you?
Pretty soon there won’t be much people don’t know about me, with the new book coming out! (PappyLand can currently be purchased from www.pappyco.com.)

How do you achieve balance?
I really enjoy a great game of golf and, at 71, I really don’t work that hard at it. I just enjoy living!

Favorite whiskey list in the world?
There are so many great places that have opened up. Here in Louisville — Proof on Main inside the 21c Museum Hotel is a great place.

Worst bourbon experience ever?
We were frequent guests at a duck camp in Arkansas owned by a friend named Bobby Joe Willy. We would usually arrive down there about 6 p.m., just in time for cocktails, and Bobby Joe often had a group of his friends there as well. One particular year, we had just released the 20-Year Pappy Van Winkle for the first time, and so I brought a bottle along. The favorite drink of Bobby Joe and his friends was Diet Mountain Dew mixed with Crown Royal. When they came rolling in out of the duck blinds that evening toting their Big Gulp cups full of Diet Mountain Dew, I happened to mention the 20-Year Pappy that we were very proud to be releasing. Without missing a beat, the boys set down the bottle of Crown Royal and reached for the Pappy, which I snatched off the table just in the nick of time!

Barrel-list: the remaining must-do(s) on your list?
I would love to visit the base camp at Mt. Everest and the pyramids of Egypt.

What is your desert island drink?

Probably one of the bottles of whiskey made by my grandfather that I keep in my little shed.

Describe your last meal.
Something that involves bacon, maybe crumbled over a salad, a bone-in ribeye, a twice-baked potato, and a big pinot.

Your favorite place to dine/Your favorite place to eat?
Dining:
Disfrutar Restaurant in Barcelona, Spain
610 Magnolia in Louisville, KY
Sean Brock’s Husk Restaurant in Charleston

Eating:
Arnold’s Country Kitchen Meat and Three in Nashville

Your favorite place to drink/Your favorite place to drink?
Drink:
Nomad Hotel in New York City

The Pendennis Club of Louisville (they still have a picture of my grandfather, Pappy, up on the wall there.)

Drink:
At the golf course after a great round, just enjoying the weather.

--

--

Soutirage
0 Followers

Relationship-based purveyors of fine wine, spirits, and the lifestyle that accompanies. At Soutirage, we start with people, not products.